Skip to content
July 25, 2015 / Apley Estate - Hamiltons

Apley harvest has begun

Apley Walled Garden veg box for Cosford Food Festival

Apley Walled Garden veg box for Cosford Food Festival – Cuca melons

IMG_8059

Summer show jumping – my 2nd job – horse trailer driver !

IMG_8058

When pony meets laptop – Combining my Apley work & horse trailer driving job to training & events

Apley harvest began last week & before I managed to get out & photo the first fields being combined, the rain began – so when it stops, I’ll be out there with my camera. It’s a real favourite time of year – I especially love the chance to canter round the stubble fields before they’re ploughed up for 2016’s crops to be planted. I noticed on my way home from yet another horsey event that some farmers had found time to bale immediately, removing the fresh straw from the forecast rain.

Adrian & his farming team had been removing rogue oats from the wheat fields, servicing & repairing machinery ready for harvest & building a new cattle handling system at Astol Farm (I’ll pop down there this week to take a photo).

This evening we enjoyed the tastiest cucumbers I’ve ever had ! Phil has been growing these round, pale yellow cuca-melons in Apley Walled Garden & included them in the veg boxes for sale at Cosford Food Festival today.

I love my 2nd job driving daughters to training & events (though I wish I was competing myself!), caught perfectly in this photo of my laptop & a curious pony.

Leave a Reply

